Prac – Part 1 – ICT Integration and school context

Hello again!

Prac is once again over for the year! In the next few posts I’m hoping to address some of the things I enjoyed, what worked, what didn’t, and basically anything else I can think of writing.

For starters, WHAT AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

I won’t mention the school by name that I attended, but I can basically give you a run down of it.

There’s about 750 students and of that, I was teaching two-year 11 OP English classes, one year 12 English Communications class, and one year 9 history class; so basically I was happy already!

The students and teaching staff were absolutely awesome! I felt so welcomed into the school community and was generally excited and keen to get in there and learn whatever I could.

First of all, as a school, they aren’t too big on ICT integration; however, most kids in the classes I was teaching had access to an iPad or laptop, which made my job one million times easier with most of the activities I had planned. For instance, i incorporated Kahoot, which I’ve mentioned in a previous post, and the kids absolutely loved it. It was one of those teaching moments for me when everything came together, and the content that I had been teaching them throughout previous lessons was coming through in a fun, and exciting way for the students. Also, my mentor had never seen Kahoot before, and was interested to try and incorporate it into her own lessons in the future, so it felt like a win for me!

I had a blast, and so did the kids.

Until next time,

Daniel

Leave a comment